Human-Machine Networks and Intelligent Infrastructure


Co-organized by Profs. Meriem Laleg and Jeff Shamma
 with financial support from the KAUST Office of Sponsored Research 
Co-sponsored by KAUST Industry Collaboration Program (KICP)


Technological advancements in sensing, communications, and embedded computation have led to a world of increasingly complex and interconnected systems. Future intelligent infrastructure systems will involve networks of devices that not only are sensing but also reacting to an evolving environment. Two primary challenges to the design of such systems are (i) distributed autonomy, in which no single entity has full information or capacity to induce collective coordination, and (ii) human-machine interaction, in which a complex network is comprised of both devices and humans. 

Motivated by these challenges, this conference brings together leading researchers on both foundational topics (e.g., cyber-physical systems, network science, and cyber-security) and applications including energy, transportation, and communications.  The conference includes distinguished keynote speakers on each day and an extended poster session for students and postdoctoral researchers.

To register, please send the registration form​​​ via email to HMNets.Conference@KAUST.EDU.SA​​ 

Link to Program​ ​​​​​​

Keynote Speakers


Day 1: Dr. Pramod Khargonekar​

Assistant Director for Directorate of Engineering
US National Science Foundation (NSF)
Cyber-physical-social systems and resilient infrastructures – A perspective from NSF

Day 2: Professor John Baras

Lockheed Martin Chair in Systems Engineering
University of Maryland
Dynamic co-evolving sociotechnical networks 

Day 3: Professor Amy Pritchett

David S. Lewis Associate Professor of Cognitive Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Human-machine interaction: Rational and predictable from what perspective?

​Invited Speakers

Ali Abbas, University of Sydney
Fadel Abdellatif, Saudi Aramco
Anas Alfaris, King Abdelaziz City for Science and Technology & MIT
Ali Alawami, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals
Saurabh Amin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Gurdal Arslan, University of Hawaii
Mariette Awad, American University of Beirut
Hamsa Balakrishnan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Florian Dorfler, ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
Constantine Dovrolis, Georgia Institute of Technology
Rolando Fuentes, KAPSARC
Karl Johansson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Burt Jones, KAUST
Mansour Karkoub, Texas A&M University at Qatar
Walid Krichene, University of California Berkeley
Meriem Laleg, KAUST
​Na Li, Harvard University
​Donatello Materassi, University of Tennessee
Bary Pradelski, ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology​
Neil Smith, FalconViz